Home Society Programs Garden Awards 2004 KC Beautiful Awards a Green “Thumbs Up”
2004 KC Beautiful Awards a Green “Thumbs Up”  E-mail

Twenty-five properties were recognized at this year’s Kansas City Beautiful Awards on September 9, 2004, on the deck of Liberty Memorial

Sandra Doolin Aust, President of the Board of Parks and Recreation Commissioners, and Roger Smith, Kessler Society president, emceed the event that drew over 100 people. Kansas City Council members Becky Nace, Terry Riley and Chuck Eddy as well as Parks & Recreation Commissioner William Washington were also in attendance.

Over 60 nominees for the awards came from a variety of sources including Neighborhood Associations, Block Clubs and Homes Associations. The Kansas City Gardener also partnered with the Kessler Society by donating space to help gather nominations fro the award.

Sue Waltemath won the Mayor’s Choice Award for the work she’s done at his home in Kansas City’s First District. Other award recipients included:

1st District

Keith & Nancy Welsh
Yuri Ives
Cladstone Manor Bed & Breakfast
Harold Creasy
2nd District

Joe Smith
Terry Flood
Bob & Marise Benson
Kelly Yerbeck

3rd District

Lavoy & Ethel Tuggle
Annie R. Carter
Marievelyn Webb
Sadie Benton

4th District

Colin Schramm
Geraldine Schreiner
Bruce A. Hoyle
Penn Valley Community College

5th District

Minnie Williams
Mrs. Varnell Jeffries
Fred & Jo Markham
Albert E. Stewart

6th District

Robert & Shirley Scheman
Dennis & Ann O’Hare
Ezell & Lemma Robinson
Mark & Carol Levin
Joomla Design By Compass